File Analysis

WinUtilities Disk Cleaner will now show you the results of its scan. A table is located on the right side of the window. This will show you the number of files found in each category, such as "0 byte files". The number in the Space used column indicates how much space can be recovered by deleting all files.

Additional information on the selected files is shown on the next step.

WinUtilities Disk Cleaner searches for all types of unneeded data that can usually be deleted from your computer without causing problems.

Types of Unneeded Files

Type

Description

Zero-byte files

These files contain no data.

Saved lost clusters

Repair programs such as CHKDSK scan your hard drive for lost clusters and save them as files. These backups are rarely used.

Internet Explorer cache

All pictures, texts and animations that you view in Internet Explorer while surfing the Internet are saved in the cache. If you visit a website again, the texts and images can be loaded from the cache more quickly than from the Internet. It is nevertheless advisable to empty your cache from time to time.

Mozilla Firefox cache

All pictures, texts and animations that you view in Mozilla Firefox while surfing the Internet are saved in the cache. If you visit a website again, the texts and images can be loaded from the cache more quickly than from the Internet. It is nevertheless advisable to empty your cache from time to time.

Recycle Bin

All files in the Recycle Bin can be deleted.

Log files

Many applications write log files that can be used to analyze their behavior. This can be helpful, for example, when trying to solve problems. Any log files that you do not plan on evaluating can be deleted.

Hibernation file

The hibernation file stores the computer's status when hibernation is performed. If you do not use hibernation or do not need to save power, this file can be deleted. This will deactivate hibernation. To activate the function once again, open the Control Panel and click on the symbol Power Options.

Backups

Many applications automatically create backups of the files they use. These can be deleted if you do not need them.

Memory dump files

When problems with an application occur, Windows saves the portion of your system memory used by the application in question to a file for troubleshooting purposes. These files are unnecessary and can be deleted.

Temporary files

These are used by different programs to temporarily store data and should normally be deleted by the program after its tasks are complete. These files can be deleted in any case.

Temporary help files

These files are used to display help files more quickly.

Temporary installation files

These are used by many Microsoft installation programs to temporarily store data and should normally be deleted by the program after its tasks are complete. These files can be deleted in any case.

Don’t take any risks!

Important! Be careful when using Disk Cleaner so that necessary files are not deleted. The module will find many files that it is no longer necessary to keep. However, the program cannot tell for certain if the files may still be needed. A .sav file can be an unneeded backup copy of a text document, or a computer game save. And a 0-byte file could be a useless entry in the file table or part of the copy protection for a program that won't work when the file is deleted.

How can you check which files the program deletes and which ones it doesn't?

Exclude Folders

First, check whether you can exclude individual folders. To do this, simply click Options, and then select 'Skip Folders'.

Backup all changes with Rescue function

It is easy to backup all changes, if you have created a restore point, then you can restore the files that have deleted at any time. to do this, simply click Options, then select Cleaning Options tab and check 'Create Restore Point'.

 

Viewing all files that have been found for deletion individually

WinUtilities Disk Cleaner scans your disk and shows a list to list all junk files that have been found.

You can clear the check box in front of any file by clicking it, thereby excluding it from deletion. You can also click Properties of the file to see if you can delete it safely.

 

Go to top